## Minutes of Annual Membership Meeting Bethany Beach Landowners Association Saturday, June 18, 2016 10:00 a.m. speaker; 11:30 a.m. meeting South Coastal Library

Guest speaker: Clifford M. Graviet, Bethany Beach Town Manager.

Board Present: Diane Fogash, Jerry Hardiman, Claire Loftus, Pat McGuire, Jerry Morris, Doug

Mowrey, Tracy Mulligan, Jack Walsh, Margaret Young, Robin Baxter.

Board not present: Martin Decre, Larry Fishel, Kathy Shorter.

Other BBLA members and guests.

- 1. President's Welcome: Tracy Mulligan welcomed those present and introduced Cliff Graviet.
- 2. Town Manager's Presentation: Cliff Graviet spoke regarding the following:
  - a. Beach storm damage and replenishment
  - b. Flooding, rain and tidal, history, planning
  - c. The plans for the park at the Church/Neff property
  - d. Town storage facility for trolleys and the like
  - e. The Dinker House Museum project status

During the question-and-answer period, the following topics were addressed:

- f. Further details regarding the Church/Neff park
- g. Cut-through traffic controls in neighborhoods, speed bumps on Gibson and Central
- h. Further details regarding the Dinker House Museum planning
- i. SERF status
- 3. Annual meeting called to Order by President Tracy Mulligan at 11:30 a.m. with 39 members present and a quorum established.
- 4. Approval of the Minutes of the 2015 Annual Membership Meeting: Approval of the 2015 Minutes was moved and seconded.

**VOTE:** Unanimous approval of the Minutes of the 2015 Annual Membership Meeting.

- 5. Treasurer's Report: Patrick McGuire reported on the financial status of the BBLA.
- 6. Newsletter: Jerry Hardiman discussed newsletter planning.
- 7. Donations Policy: The adoption and revision of the Donations Policy was summarized.
- 8. History of BBLA Exhibit: The History of the BBLA exhibit being prepared for the planned Dinker House Museum was explained by Margaret Young, and a brief history of the BBLA presented: its start in 1969, its early leadership, its causes and activities.

## 9. Nominations and Elections:

Diane Fogash, Nominating Committee Chair, reported that the Committee, which also included Marty Decre and Larry Fishel, nominated the following candidates for election or re-election to the BBLA Board of Directors:

Current members for re-election:

Robin Baxter

Jerry Morris

Tracy Mulligan

Doug Mowrey

Margaret Young

New members for election:

Kathy Shorter

Jack Walsh

The floor was opened for additional nominations; there were none. A motion was made and seconded to elect the nominated directors.

**VOTE:** Unanimous election of the above directors.

The Committee nominated the following BBLA members to serve as the officers of the Board of Directors of the BBLA:

President: Tracy Mulligan Vice President: Doug Mowrey

Treasurer: Pat McGuire

Membership Secretary: Jerry Morris Recording Secretary: Robin Baxter

The floor was opened for additional nominations; there were none. A motion was made and

seconded to elect the nominated officers.

**VOTE:** Unanimous election of the above officers.

The following Board Members were elected in 2015, with terms that run to June 2017: Marty Decre, Larry Fishel, Diane Fogash, Jerry Hardiman, Claire Loftus, and Patrick McGuire.

- <u>10.</u> Question-and-answers included the topic of term limits for BBLA Board/Officers, and financial management and security controls.
- 11. Next BBLA Board Meeting: planned for August 20, 2016.
- 12. In memoriam: The deaths of past President Mike Horne and Board Member John Schmidtlein were noted along with appreciation for their dedication and service.

## 13. Adjournment:

After a motion was made and seconded, a **VOTE was unanimous to adjourn** and the BBLA 2015 Annual Meeting was adjourned at 12:10 p.m.

Documents distributed at the meeting include: agenda, attendance sign-in sheet, minutes from the 2015 Annual Meeting, and the Treasurer's Report.